this secret garden

sourpuss

A month has quickly passed since I last updated.  It’s been a month of getting sick, straining my neck, slowly gaining back the weight I lost, and losing a little bit of ground.  The earth shakes sometimes but so what.  It holds us and grows food for us and has always been our home; it can shake if it wants to.  There’s nothing I can do about it, but I can keep my composure and rejoice in all situations.

Today I was a sourpuss all day.  Because of my neck, I can’t do simple things and just picking something up from the ground is painful.  So the pain wears on me and makes me feel sorry for myself.  I will never judge my students who have chronic pain again!  We were in Sports Authority this evening when I was following Olive and we approached a big mirror.  My face looked tired and old and pinched.  So I smiled; my heart and face brightened.  Ugh, I’m ugly when I’m self-absorbed, I said to myself.  And I called out my daughter’s name with a laugh and chased her around the store, thankful once again.

2 comments on “sourpuss

  1. Hans
    April 14, 2013

    Love your writing.

    • mijin
      April 14, 2013

      i love YOUR writing. i wish you had a blog…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
